2021 New England District Lightning Season is completed. Justin Coplan, Don Brush and Bill Fastiggi duplicated their 1, 2, 3 finish in the Districts at the Leaf Peeper this weekend, racing against a total of 11 boats. Results available here https://mbbc-vt.org/2021Race/Data/blwEBDC.htm
The District Circuit Championship ended with Bob Shapiro in first, followed by Rob Donle/Josh Pfosi tied for second with Nathan Cunningham, with Rob/Josh winning the tie breaker. Congrats to all! Results attached.
Watch for announcement of the Winter District Zoom meeting and see you on the water next year!


The New England Lightning District has active fleets sailing on:

  • Mallettts Bay, Vermont
  • Squam Lake, New Hampshire
  • Bow Lake, New Hampshire
  • Lake Massabesic, New Hampshire

For more information, please contact District Commodore Bob Shapiro at 978-761-3289 or email him at finallybk@gmail.com.

Or see our Facebook page at https://www.facebook.com/New-England-District-Lightning-Class-179175582130576/

2021 Schedule and Results

2021 District Circuit Championship FINAL RESULTS (high point):
1. Bob Shapiro 72 points (6 regattas)
2. Rob Donle 52 (5)
3. Nathan Cunningham 52 (4)
4. Don Brush 45 (3)
5. Bill Fastiggi 44 (3)
6. Rob Dresser 43 (4)
7. Art Cunningham 37 (3)
8. Ted Hardenbergh 37 (3)
9. Justin Coplan 35 (2)
10. Dan Egan 32 (2 regattas)

Dates Location
MBBC Spring Regatta
1. Bill Fastiggi
2. Don Brush
3. Bretton Gardner
5 June MBBC, VT
New England District Championships
Photos: https://www.flickr.com/photos/bob_and_margo/albums/72157719469150654

1. Justin Coplan, Andrea Fisher, Emmet Todd
2. Don Brush, Patti Fisher, Emma Hawko
3. Bill Fastiggi, Suzy Coburn, Emaline Ouellette

26-27 June Squam Lake, Holderness, NH
Newfound Lake Around the Lake Race
1. Bob Shapiro, Brad Winslow
2. Garr Corcoran, Clair Gormley, Andrew Veilleux
3. Nathaniel Hendrickson, Sawyer
July 24 Newfound Lake, Hebron, NH
Squam Lake One Day
1. Dan Egan, Marty Riehs, Nate Olson
2. Art Cunningham, David Hallagan, Jeanine Carlson
3. Rob Donle, Ned Hinds, Jeff Choate
Saturday 21 August Squam Lake, Holderness, NH
Bow Lake Ed Hinds Memorial
Photos: https://www.flickr.com/photos/bob_and_margo/albums/72157719844717559

1. Bob Shapiro, Greg Shapiro, Jim Lerner
2. Ted Hardenbergh, John Kerwin, David Hale
3. Art Cunningham, Sandra Czibik, Nathan Cunningham

New England District Masters Champs
1. Bob Shapiro, Greg Shapiro, Jim Lerner
2. Ted Hardenbergh, John Kerwin, David Hale
3. Ned Hinds, Guillaume Joffrees, Devon Smith

Saturday 11 September Bow Lake, Strafford, NH
Lake Massabesic
1. Bob Shapiro, Tim Bartos, Ryan Gershuny
2. Ted Hardenbergh, Raoul Posmentier, John Kerwin
3. Nathan Cunningham, Greg McGinnis, Jules/Nate Olsen
18-19 September Lake Massabesic, Auburn, NH
MBBC Leaf Peeper   https://mbbc-vt.org/2021Race/Data/blwEBDC.htm
1. Justin Coplan, Andrea Fisher, Tate Colbert
2. Don Brush, Eric Johnson, Brandon Hawko
3. Bill Fastiggi, Suzy Coburn, Lauren Jones Colbert
9-10 October MBBC, VT